Archive for July 7, 2021

The Blessing of Demands

Posted: July 7, 2021 in Uncategorized

One of the things the COVID 19 pandemic did for me was to force me to learn a lot of new skills. I’ve made hundreds of videos in the last 15 months or so, learned some new techniques, and created a few new ways to spread the Word, and while most of the things surrounding the pandemic have been pretty awful, there have been some blessings, but with this blessings came new demands.

All of the sudden I am producing at least three videos a week. This is in addition to figuring out how to share content over multiple platforms and writing my sermons so that they can be read by other people. Again this has really sharpened my skill set, but with it come new deadlines. Where Sunday at 10:00 a.m. used to be my drop dead deadline, (I never dragged it out that long) but now if I want to have the written service in people’s homes by Sunday a.m. it pretty much has to be written out and ready to go by Wednesday. Recordings need to be done by Thursday, so they can be uploaded on time and I need to have at least some of the graphics done, by that time as well.

Is this a complaint? Look at my title again. There are blessings in all of this. These demands have forced me to become more disciplined, which is usually a really good thing and it has been for me. Further, having all of these tools out there, allows me to reach new people with the Gospel. Further, I have work that could theoretically be bundled and repackaged into more applications to expand their usefulness even further. My Youtube channel is full of videos, my sermons are being passed around and God has given the work I am a doing life beyond preaching it one time and moving on. Yes, the schedule can be incredibly demanding, but there is a lot of good that can come from all this work we’re doing. Let’s not lament the extra work. I think it is here to stay, instead let’s see it for what it is, another tool in our arsenal, and another way to advance the Kingdom.

How can you put your “extra work” to work.