Archive for July 31, 2015


Yesterday I had a great conversation. We talked art and ministry and a whole bunch of really cool stuff. We talked Christian arts organizations, the good the bad (maybe bad is the wrong word, more like differences), the ups and downs, ins and outs. It was a great conversation. I have to admit, somewhere along the way, I started to think, what do I have to do to be considered one of those upper echelon artist speakers? How many churches do I need to speak to before someone considers me to be a keynote at one of those larger events? How many blog posts? How many books do I need to write? Pride is ugly like that.

Fortunately, I was also in tune with the Spirit and I began to rebuke those thoughts. I don’t know if I’ll ever be in the upper echelon, but the matter at hand was the people at this beautiful camp in upstate New York. I did Pictures of Jesus, probably my favorite presentation, and it connected. The affirmations from the people were wonderful, but the sense from God was even better. I once again had the realization that I am doing what I was born to do and I felt His pleasure and His presence, maybe even a little “well done…”

Here’s the thing. I can’t pick my echelon. People will thrust that upon me I suppose. What I do get to pick is how faithful I will be. I get to make the most of the opportunities before me. I get to feel my Father’s pleasure. I get to see people touched and moved and blessed. I get to see a “hard earned” testimony bear fruit and some really painful memories begin to make sense in the context of God’s Kingdom. I get to see God move. I am meeting awesome amazing people and getting to see places I may never have seen had I not gotten into this ministry. Lastly, I am having fun.

I’m in God’s echelon. That’s enough for me.

How about you?