World Changing

Posted: May 9, 2016 in Arts an Activism
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

worldchangerThere comes a time in most people’s lives where they think they can change the world. It’s usually attributed to youthful naivety and most people think you’ll outgrow it. In my mind, that’s sad but you know we do it. We hear someone talk about changing the world and we shake our heads and think, “One day you’ll understand.” as we wallow in acceptance of how things are. Well get ready to shake your head because I refuse to give up. I hope you’re with me.

See when I was young, I wanted to change the world. Then I got older and I started to get focused on making a living and getting mine and after a while I was fixated on getting by. Having a family to support and bills to pay will do that to you, but I always kind of knew I had taken my eyes off the prize. Brothers and sisters we need to get back on mission.

I look at my little grandson and I look at the world he will grow up in and I begin to think, “NO way! Not on my watch.” This world is not good enough for him or the millions of other little ones who will inherit it. I want better for him and if that means we have to change the world then it’s time to hitch up my big boy pants and do something, so be it! But it’s not just my grandson, it’s someone much bigger. It’s God.

Let us never forget, we are here on mission. The Lord has a plan and a purpose for us being here and it’s bigger than just getting our own. There’s a story to be told, a Gospel to be shared. There are millions of people in our world on a downward trajectory because they don’t know the truth that will set them free and there are a millions of people called the church of Jesus Christ who are in this world to change that. Brothers and sisters, the Gospel changes lives and changed lives change things, maybe even the world. We must never lose track of the fact that we are here for a bigger purpose that our personal comfort. We are here to help and bless and yes to change things.

People we are created in the image of our Creator and if you’re reading this you are probably at least beginning to consider the idea that you were created to be creative. Creativity is not just about art, it’s about solving problems. The world is full of problems so pray and pick one. Then get to work. Forget about world change for the moment, that is beyond the scope of our comprehension. Instead work to be the change you want to see. Start where you are, do what you can, and let the God who is the master of the chain reaction use you to set something great in motion.

Remember, “He who began a good work in you will carry it through to completion in the day of Christ Jesus.” So start something, or better yet, let Him start something in you. Be the spark. One thing is clear the world needs changing.

I don’t know if you’ll change the world, but I do know nothing changes if you do nothing.

Leave a Reply

