Archive for August 6, 2015


I am in the process of beginning my next book and I’d like to know, what would be the most helpful thing I could write about for you in your journey as a Christian in the Creative Arts? Let me know in the comments.


I just started reading a book by one of today’s top novelists. I’m sure it will be a page turner, well written and well crafted. That being said, I’m not sure I will read much further. It’s a thriller, but it’s just so dark. It’s a little hearty breaking. So much of what I see in pop culture is dark and harsh. I am not saying this to be just another whiny Christian, nor am I saying that we should begin to boycott anyone in particular’s work, you have your own filter and your own wisdom, you know right from wrong and what you can handle.

We also don’t need to make “Christian” versions of all other art forms. Instead, here’s what we need. We need believing creatives to bring their best to all their creative work, we need to be impacting the culture, creating God honoring, positive work. Stories where the good guys win, art where the light of Christ shines through, films that tackle the hard questions, Comedy that proves we can be clean and funny. We need to bring people hope and joy. It’s our calling. After all, I believe we Christians have lived badly when it comes to the culture. We either hide from it or we cave to it. To be clear, we are in this world to change it. To impact culture rather than being impacted by it. We should be influencers of the world around us.

Our call is, at the end of the day, the same as so many others, maybe everyone, to be the light in a dark world. Jesus said we are the light of the world.

How bright are you shining? It’s a question we all need to answer.

So Shine!
(I know I’ve shared this before, but it is so worthwhile and a great example of exactly what I’m talking about…)