Archive for August 28, 2015


This cross of art and technology by Anthony Howe is absolutely fascinating…


mural1Years ago, Hillary Clinton wrote a book called It Takes a Village. I wasn’t necessarily in agreement with her and the phrase has sort of irked me ever since. A few days ago a friend of mine, Kent Rice, asked me to design a mural for his latest project, East Petersburg Area Civic Center. I was excited to do this project. I sent the sketches through and he asked me to make one addition.

A banner that says, “It Takes a Village…”

mural2Are you sure??? I said it might be seen as political, he reminded me if comes from an African proverb, long before it became the time of Mrs. Clinton’s book. I added it.

Today as we began the painting, it was amazing. I had so many people volunteer to help. People who see themselves as artistic, people who really don’t, but just wanted to help, even young children. It was amazing, kind of like a village. Someone made the comment that they were surprised that I, as an artist, would allow others to work my design with me. I actually love to collaborate, Beyond that, the only way it was going to get done was massive quantities of help. At least ten people helped over the course of the day. It went from blank wall to finished piece in one day and a whole lot of people can look at that piece and say I helped with that.

mural3This civic center project is all about community and so is the mural. Maybe it really did take a village.

I stand corrected.