Giving Up and Letting Go

Posted: August 25, 2018 in Thoughts on art ministry and life

No I’m not giving up on art, or ministry, or even art ministry. I’m not giving up blogging either, in spite of the fact that I have been a little lax lately. No I’m giving up on something else. There’s a famous prayer that is used a lot in the 12 step programs called the Serenity prayer. It goes like this:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

There is tremendous freedom in this prayer. The problem comes in knowing what I can change, and what I cannot. I’ve needed that wisdom a lot lately. I’ve found the attitudes of so many so troubling. Politics, political forces, and in some cases political correctness have been ripping this nation apart and it breaks my heart. The divisiveness is destroying us. Gone are the days where people can disagree agreeably and have conversations to find common ground. Now, it seems, disagreement is hate and I’m starting to think this is one of those things that I cannot change at least in some people, maybe even most. So I’m going to do my best to give that up and let it go.

Instead, I am going to try to remember why I am here. There is a ripe harvest out there. There are people who are looking for hope, encouragement, love and purpose. There is one who can change the state we’re in, and it’s not me. There is one who can change the hearts and minds of people. That’s not me, either. It’s Jesus. He’s the one whose mission I am supposed to be on. With His help, I am going to stay out of the arguments, entering only by His leading. The rest of the time I am going to focus on being the light I am supposed to be. If you’re looking for hope, encouragement, inspiration, I’m here. If you’re looking for a fight, there’s a world full of people who will be more than happy to engage you. With God’s help, I’m no longer one of them.

Brothers and sisters, let’s be the creative light we are supposed to be. Let’s be that shining city on a hill, so the ones looking for hope and real answers will be drawn to what we have been given. Stay out of the mud. I’ll try to do the same.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.