Archive for December 6, 2016


goal222It’s getting to be that time of year when we set our goals for the coming year. I know some of you have been all over this for weeks already, but the rest of us are catching up. The thing with goals is they are kind of like those New Years Resolutions we make that are all broken by the end of the month, if it lasts that long. Why is it that we fail at meeting our goals so often. I think a key is sustainability.

My wife follows a number of fitness people online. The one person said she is frequently asked what diet people should follow. Her answer was telling. She said the diet you should follow is the one you will follow. This is amazingly accurate. The key to setting goals is to challenge yourself to go up a level while considering the time and resources you have available to meet those goals. The best goals to set are the ones you are passionate enough about to complete.

Case in point. I set a goal last year to create a piece of art every day this year. I knew I could get this done, but I also came at it realistically. I knew there would be days when I would not have time to create, and I try to take a day of rest each week, but I also knew there would be many days I would create multiple pieces, so it all balanced out. I have actually already gone well over 365 pieces this year, as my coloring books alone have gone over 400 pages. Also this is a daily blog, but I know there are days when I won’t get it done. (I am about three or four days behind as I write this, sorry.) My reality is, with all the diverse projects that I do, there are days where the time just gets away from me. Of course, there are other days where I get really inspired and write multiple posts. The point is at the end of the year, I will have posted 365 or more posts, the goal keeps me on task.

This year as you set goals, try to set goals you are passionate enough about to complete. Set god goals and follow through, then do all you can to make it happen.