Archive for April 4, 2015


Good Friday has passed. Resurrection Sunday is tomorrow. Friday, the sixth day, was the culmination of Jesus’ earthly mission. Sunday, the first day is the beginning of a new age, the age of the Church. Friday Jesus died. Sunday He was raised to life. But what about Saturday?

There’s almost no mention of Saturday in Scripture. I am sure Jesus’ followers were mourning and grieving, because remember they didn’t seem to understand what Jesus told them about Sunday. In fairness, very few people had risen from the dead up to that point and all of them who had been raised were raised by Jesus. What would they do now that Jesus was dead and which of them would be next. Moreover what about Jesus? Well he was dead, but let’s examine this a little further. What did His Father do on the seventh day? He rested. What did His Father command His followers to do on the seventh day? Rest! What did Jesus do on the Sabbath. Rested in the sleep of death. One mission over and a new one beginning. Jesus could rest in the promise of John 10:17-18 “The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

Jesus laid down His life on Friday and took it up again on Sunday. A new mission for Him and for us… We’re still on that mission Church.

Friday is Gone and Sunday is coming… Rest up cause something awesome is coming!