Archive for December 5, 2015


For years now, I have been expressing the idea that God is redeeming the arts and is about ready to do a major work through the arts to His glory. Many other people have been feeling it too, and I don’t believe it’s just because we’re artists, not do I believe it is because I have sensed this calling over my life for nearly two decades. I’ve always believed it, and the more visual our society becomes, the more our society is bombarded my more and more messages, the more I am convinced that I am right.

There have been a lot of discouraging times in this journey though and many of them revolve around the fact that I also run into people almost daily who believe they have no talent and no creativity. I refuse to believe either of those things. I believe we are all creative as children and sooner or later life beats it out of most of us and well meaning loved ones (and mean spirited discouragers) tell us to pursue something “more practical.” Here’s the truth, as long as our world needs more truth and beauty, the world will need more artists.

This is why I love two trends I have been seeing lately. Adult coloring and Bible Art Journaling. What an awesome thing. You might say. “Coloring is not really creative. It’s just filling in the blanks and coloring inside the lines.” I think you’re wrong. First of all I have seen some people doing some amazing work as colorists. Secondly, it can be be very healing and very relaxing and most importantly, it opens the door to more creative pursuits. This blesses my heart and I believe God’s heart as well. After all, if we’re born creative, (and we are) who do you think put that creativity in there. Thank God for coloring. As author Hugh Macleod once said, “Everyone is born creative; everyone is given a box of crayons in kindergarten. Then when you hit puberty they take the crayons away and replace them with dry, uninspiring books on algebra, history, etc. Being suddenly hit years later with the ‘creative bug’ is just a wee voice telling you, ‘I’d like my crayons back, please.” Take back your crayons and color.

Secondly, Bible art journaling excites me because it may be the most natural way for a person to connect his or her creativity with his or her faith. Reading the Word of God and allowing to inspire us to create, feels like it comes straight from the heart of the ultimate Creator. After all what could be better, than seeking God for inspiration?

I am stoked about coloring and art journaling. I believe it just might be another step in a great move of God. Get out your tools and get started.

Get stoked and create!
storyfrontcover