Archive for November 10, 2012


My post is a little later than usual today because I was attending the Spirit Led Artists retreat at New Song Fellowship Church, led by my friend deAnn Roe. It was a day of Spiritual Formation in art and an excellent retreat. In other words, it was exactly what I needed as I set out on this phase of my journey.

As some of you may know, the church I have pastored for the last 10 years is closing as of 12/31/12, and I will be making AMOKArts my primary ministry from that time forward, Lord willing. I have felt led to do this for some time and attempting to be faithful to God’s call. It was a difficult decision, and while I am excited to step out on this journey, there are some internal struggles.

In the retreat, we were led into some contemplative time listening to a song, and then a time of prayer, after which we set out to create an image based on what we felt God saying to us. My confession is during this time of transition I have been really pushing to make this ministry happen and I am at least in danger of getting my priorities of whack. During listening to the song, From the Inside Out, my Spirit keyed in on the line that says,

In my heart, in my soul
I give you control
Consume me from the inside out

In this time of transition that was exactly the reminder I needed. In prayer, this is the image that came:
from the inside out...
Here’s what I was hearing. A long time ago, I gave my heart to Jesus, but art battled for position and almost won. Then I surrendered my art to Jesus vowing never to pick up a brush again unless I was doing it for the Lord. I got my call to ministry during that period of fast and when God gave art back to me as a tool to serve Him, AMOKArts was born. Now I am at a phase in life where AMOKArts is moving to the forefront and God is using it in great ways, but once again there is a danger of priorities getting out of order. It’s time for an offering. It’s time to remember my art and my heart both belong to Him and He can be trusted with them both. I need to offer them to Him again and again every day. The reasoning behind this is simple:

God has this ministry. He called me to it and it belongs to Him. He will be faithful. It’s not enough to give Him my art, I need to continually give Him my heart. If He’s not in AMOK, it won’t work. If He’s on the sidelines AMOK won’t have the power. He needs to be the center. IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT THE ART, IT’S NOT ABOUT ME AND IT’S NOT ABOUT AMOK. It’s all about Jesus, totally and completely. To draw hearts and minds to Christ, I must be with Christ, not preoccupied. This is a daily choice and a daily battle. God is good and will be with us.

Spending this day with all these creatives was a wonderful thing and it cemented for me my call to this time. There needs to be someone out there in the Church, going from church to church, introducing people to Jesus, teaching the church what to do with their creatives and calling people to use their gifts to serve the Lord both in the Church and in the world beyond. I have felt this call and I have said, “Here am I send me.”

I just need to remember the one who called me is faithful and will provide.

God is good.