The Four Es:  Educate, Elucidate, Eradicate, Emulate 

Posted: February 10, 2023 in Uncategorized

So the other night I had a dream and in the dream, I came up with a mission statement for my ministry. It was four E words that pretty much sum up what I feel led to do with these things I create. Now as with all things in dreams, as I sit here awake, I’m not totally sure I have this nailed down, but I like where this is headed and it is worthy of consideration. The words are 

Educate, Elucidate, Eradicate and Emulate.

Educate is obvious. I want to teach people about the Lord, the Bible and the things of God.

Elucidate is ironic, It’s probably the most complex of the words, the word fewer people will understand, but it means to make clear.  This is something I’ve always held dear in ministry. I sometimes feel like people want to make things complicated so people will find them intelligent. I on the other hand want the person with the least understanding in the room to understand what I am saying. I want to make the complex understandable to everyone in the room. 

Eradicate means to remove of destroy utterly. It doesn’t seem to match the rest, but there is an element of this that needs to be in ministry, and that is to eradicate sin and the plans of the enemy. It means to eradicate things like unholy fear, hurt, negativity and more. Of all the E words on this list, this is the one that may not stay, as I am trying to think of a better way to say this, since this is more the work of the Spirit than it is mine to do.

Emulate is the one I hope for most in myself and others. It means to imitate with effort to equal or surpass. Now I have no illusions about equaling or surpassing, but I do want to live my life as an imitator of Christ, and my goal is to be able to say to the people I lead, what the Apostle Paul said, “Follow me as I follow Christ.” I have always taken this to mean, if I am following Jesus follow me and if I stray, stumble or sin, don’t follow me. This is why eradicate becomes more important in my life as a leader. 

I’m not sure where any of this is headed, but I wanted to write it down and share it in hopes of remembering it, making it make more sense and getting some accountability. I can’t say this is a complete idea yet, but I feel like it’s a pretty good core. What do you think? 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.