Archive for May 21, 2021


I can almost see the red flags coming up with this title, so I better explain myself or at least clarify. Be who God made you to be, do what He created you to do! Now I know in this day and age, that could still be problematic because some folks have some pretty wild ideas about what God made them to be and do, so let’s start here. God’s will, will NEVER EVER contradict what He says in His Word. Hopefully by now I am clear enough to move on.

There are times where I feel like I don’t measure up. Yes, I know I wrote a book called ENOUGH. but there are still times where it’s a struggle. I see people who are more gifted than me, people who are smarter preachers and better speakers and I struggle a little. Well last night I was watching one of those people. This guy’s insight into the Word really have rocked my world at times and he seems to communicate so effortlessly, that you can almost forget, he is the product of a lifetime of faithfulness in His calling and thousands and thousands of hours of preparation. Last night though, he really blessed me. You see he started talking about the people who taught him to preach. These were both legendary names in the world of ministry, and he mentioned when he was starting out, he was emulating these guys so much that his wife took him aside and basically said, “You can’t be them, so just be the best you, you can be.” I have long known this to be true. I know I’ve preached it and shared it with people all over the place at one point or another in many of the venues where I have been privileged to speak, but it just felt like affirmation coming from him.

It’s true. You are the only one of you that has ever been made, and there will never be another. I believe the Bible says pretty clearly that you were made on purpose for a purpose, by God—the One who loves you most and knows you best. Trying to live out someone else’s calling is a fool’s errand. Learn from the people you admire—the people who do what you do and perhaps do it better (at least as you see it), but do not try to be them. You’re a different creation. Find your way and do what you do the way God created you to do it. The truth of the matter is, if you do what you do long enough, there will be people who would love to be you. If that happens, smile and praise God that He has used you in a way that inspires others, and if you get the chance encourage them to ask God to show them their unique way to Be who He created them to be and do what He created them to do.

You are not someone else, you are you. You are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works which God prepared in advance for you to do. That’s awesome. Be who you are and do what you do.