Archive for October 8, 2019


I’m in one of those places right now where sleep seems such a waste of time. I literally have an overload of ideas. No, I’m not complaining. Well maybe just a little. You see I’m feeling a little sleep deprived, because the ideas tend to kick up in the middle of the night. Engage them too long, and I can’t sleep. Further, I have more ideas than I can act on, and the temptation is very real to back burner things in favor of the shiny objects before my eyes. Add to that a few changes coming up, and I’m starting to feel distracted. I need to focus. What to do?

Well let’s start with the basics. Keep a pad and paper or other idea collection device nearby, so you can record the ideas, after all in the creative world, ideas are gold. Recording them gives me the confidence that I won’t forget them or lose them which often helps me get back to sleep. This also allows me to store the shiny objects, so that I can faithfully finish what I’m already working on. So many creatives have a mountain of started ideas that flounder in the name of the next big thing, don’t do it. Unfinished ideas benefit no one, and if we truly believe in calling, a big part of that is getting our creations out there to the rest of the world.

I’m of the belief that there is no such thing as too many ideas. The answer to the difficulty is being able to maintain focus, and get things done. We need to prioritize and we need to know our calling. Some things are for us to do now, and some are for us to dream on for a while, maybe even hand them off to someone better suited to the task at hand. The point is there are only so many hours in a day and we all need to rest at times. Prioritization will help us manage our ideas until we can get to them.

What are you working on today?