Archive for November 8, 2017


My confession is that today is actually November 13 but I am time traveling back to November 8 to post this, because I have gotten way behind on my posting. The good news is I am writing furiously right now as part of NaNoWriMo the national novel writing month. The goal is to complete a 50,000 word book in the 30 days of November. The bad news is, I have been a little lax in posting. My book is called Enough. It’s not exactly a novel, it’s more of a non-fiction book with healthy quantities of storytelling incorporated in it. My plan was to post an excerpt every day this month, and while I got behind, I am playing catchup now. Enjoy!

“While I thought I was trying to prove something to people who long ago gave up any interest in me at all, my loving family was missing me. Oh I thought I was doing all this for them. That while I was chasing the impossible dream, I would have said that I was doing it so that I could give them everything they ever wanted, but what they really wanted were things that I already had the capacity to give them. They wanted a husband and father in a stable home. If any of this is ringing true with you, you need to know there is a better way.

So let’s go back to the original question, “Are you enough?” The answer is yes and the answer is no, and both of those are very good news. Let’s start with the yes. As a man of faith, I have come to believe that God has provided us with everything we need to accomplish the plans and purposes He has for our lives. Now please note the word “need.” I wanted a million dollars and here we are decades later and I am still nowhere close.  I wanted it, but I didn’t need it and when I gave up pursuing what I wanted, I found I already had what I needed. I had work and a home and a family who loved me. I didn’t need more so much as I learned I needed to learn to appreciate what God had already given and I had to learn how to be faithful with it. I had to learn I had enough and I was enough. I read a saying on  church sign once that said, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” Okay it was my church sign, but I didn’t put it there, My friend Lucy, who does our sign put it there. As I crested the hill to go to my office on a Wednesday morning, there it was and as I read it, I realized that’s the key to contentment and having and being a month.

The quest for enough was brutal on my life. It’s part of the reason I’m sitting in a Sheetz convenience store banging away on my iMac right now. I want every person to read these stories and take a different path. I want you dear reader to be encouraged. I want you to realize that you are in many ways enough, right where you are, right now today. I want you to know that you are loved by God and you can be everything that God has created you to be, no exceptions. “

