Archive for November 4, 2017


I’m now about 8500 words in. Of course this is rough “wordage” completely unedited.

This is a small excerpt from a chapter on the sufficiency of God’s grace.

“As I began to consider Paul’s thorn that day, I began to wonder about my own thorn. Could it be that depression is my thorn? Could this be a weakness that God could turn into a strength? I think it can. As a matter of fact, I think it has. Believe me when I tell you, He can still take it away any time He wants, but in the mean time, His grace is enough. It is that grace that has made me compassionate to the suffering and struggling. This is vital in the work God has called me to. It is God’s grace that makes me able to see what’s happening in the midst of a trial and to look forward in hope, rather than wallowing in despair. His grace seems to constantly remind me of Romans 8:28. “In ALL thing (emphasis mine) God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” This much I know, I love God and He loves me. Despite the way I felt on that day, I know I am called according to His purpose, and if that’s the case, then I can look at every trial and seek out the way that it can work to my good. His grace is for me and it is enough. My thorn will not overcome me, because God has given me the grace to endure.

There was one ofter thing that came to me on that day in the midst of all this thought on thorns. In my mind’s eye, I began to see Jesus, as he was being led to Golgotha. On His head was a brutal crown of thorns—long sharp thorns goring His flesh and causing even more indescribable pain. Since I have been a believer, I have known that Jesus bore my sins as He went to the cross, but this image begged a question. Did he also bear my thorns?

His grace is enough. Is it enough for you?

