Archive for November 1, 2017


Every year in November there is something called NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month. The idea is to complete a 50,000 page novel in a month. Well I have had an idea for a book burning a hole in my brain for a few weeks now and I decided to hold off writing and give NaNoWriMo a try. My hope is that it will help me to finish the project by giving me a daily deadline of sorts.

The book is called Enough. It’s more non fiction than novel, but it has a storytelling element involved. If all is good, this may be the theme of my next speaking tour as well. I’ve decided that since this will be most of my content generation for the year, I would share snippets from my daily writing to give you an idea where the project is headed. My goal is to hit publish on this book by November 30. We’ll see how it goes.

_______________________

Excerpt from Enough by Dave Weiss

I heard the story once of a very famous author. I won’t give his name in case the story isn’t true (the principle works regardless), but he’s a name you would know. He was at a dinner party when a friend pointed out a very young, 25ish man. The friend said, “You see that guy over there, he’ll make more money this year, than all your books have ever made.”

The author replied, “…but I have something he’ll never have…”

“Enough.”

It’s true. For many of us, “enough” is an elusive thing. It’s a sliding scale, a moving target, an unreachable goal, made unreachable by our own growing desires. Put simply, “enough is tough.”

And it’s more than just money and possessions, it can manifest in virtually every aspect of life. In some ways, boiled down to the lowest common denominator, it seems to come down to a question, “Am I enough?” Isn’t that really what this quest for enough is all about? Do we have what it takes? Are we good enough? It’s a question of value, and of questioning of our value. These questions can put us on the hamster wheel of self-fulfillment, running hard and getting nowhere fast. Maybe it’s time to say, “Enough’s enough!”

Add to this the element of Christian faith and we come to an even more profound question—one many of us would just as soon sweep under a rug. “Is Jesus enough?” Oh we sing songs that say “Your grace is enough” or “All of you is more than enough” but in the quiet moments is the All-Sufficient One really enough for you?

The good news is, He is. He is all you will ever really need and has everything you will ever really need and it is in embracing His “enough-ness” (like that word? I just made it up!) that we find real life and real peace, not to mention purpose and value.

So step off the hamster wheel and join me as we explore what it means to be and have enough in the One who is truly more than enough. After all you were made for more than the closed system of the hamster cage with tubes and diversions but no real purpose. You were made for freedom and life by the one who created freedom and life. In Him, you are enough.

 

