Grateful

Posted: October 16, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life

I had a great time this weekend. My wife, Dawn, and I went to Delta Lake Bible Conference in Rome, NY. I was leading a weekend camp for adults with special needs called Haven Camp. The theme for the weekend was Grateful and in a way that sums up the weekend. We looked at being grateful to be yourself, being grateful for what you have, being grateful for God the Father and being grateful for Jesus and what He has done for us. It was a superb weekend. Delta Lake runs a great program and I can’t say enough about how wonderful their team is there. The campers pretty much epitomize gratitude and they are so receptive to the message. Creating programs for Haven is always fun, because it is very important to have a lot of creative elements. It was great having Dawn with me and having been able to experience Haven together. I came away from this weekend feeling grateful.

Then on my way home, tired after a long weekend, my gratitude was put to the test. Nothing major, just traffic jams. I was having some pretty uncharitable thoughts about my fellow drivers. I was struggling with people that see a sign five miles back saying “Left Lane Closed” to me this would mean get over into the right lane and we an all sail through. Others seem to think let’s stay in the left lane and see how many peopleI can jump in front of. This was making me a bit angry but then I had that rude awakening. A little voice in my head said, “You just spent three days telling people to choose to be grateful now what will you choose?” Conviction is your friend.

God has blessed me to work with these folks and I am grateful. I can’t wait to get back and do Haven again, but between here and there are a lot of other opportunities for which I am grateful. Tomorrow and Tuesday mornings, bright and early I am volunteering with a national ministry. He is doing anti-bullying presentations in a couple of local schools. I am thrilled to see how all this works and to help with such a worthy cause. To me, working with an anti bullying program in schools is coming full circle as someone who was bullied. My prayer is that this ministry will bless the students and maybe help a few to see things differently.

Leave a Reply

