Archive for October 4, 2017


Hi everyone,
If you’ve been blessed at all by this ministry, please join me in praising God for this day. You see this is a momentous day, the anniversary of a day that changed the entire course of my life. 20 years ago today was a bright, warm Saturday morning, but in truth I was under a dark cloud. I was feeling like I was so lost. I was trying to be a professional artist, hustling like crazy and I see now driving everyone crazy. You see I had to be an artist. It was the only thing in the world I was any good at. I assumed it was my God-given gift and so surely I was supposed to be doing that for a living. If that was the case, and I was quite convinced I was, why was I failing so miserably, and why was everyone so mad at me? I felt like God had let me down. I was wrong.

You see in my pursuit of fame and fortune, I was messing up badly. Now if you had asked me, I would have told you I was doing it all for my family and that once I made it they would have everything they ever wanted. If that’s the case, and lying to myself I said it was, why was my family life in a shambles. It had been about a week since I’m pretty sure I heard the voice of God. I was railing at Him over my perceived failure, and maybe His failure to take care of me, when I heard Him say, “your work is your god.” I was fighting with that thought all week. On that Saturday, I got on a bus bright and early. To be honest I didn’t really want to go, I had deadlines. I found out later that people were praying I would get on that bus, first and foremost, my wife. You see that bus would drop me on the mall in Washington D.C. for a Promise Keepers event called Stand in the Gap.

There were a million men or more on the mall that day from all over the world, but God wasted no time at all. It felt like every speaker was speaking only to me. (I’ve since heard a lot of other guys who felt the same way.) Speaker after speaker, nailed all my issues. I spent most of the day in tears of repentance and by the end of the day I knew what I had to do. I had to take my beloved art career and lay in on the altar. I quit art that day and I told God I would never pick it up again unless I was doing it for Him. I felt Him call me to ministry right then and there and the rest is history. That night I repented not just to God but to my family. God really turned my life around. In time I went from a guy terrified to speak in public to a guy who has spoken all over this great nation. I’ve painted and ministered in about 200 venues just in the last five years in about 15 or 16 states. I pastor a great little church here in PA and I am the happiest I have ever been. It all started 20 years ago today. Thanks for being a part of this journey. The best is yet to come.

