There Are Just Those Days…

Posted: October 2, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s just small stuff but it’s aggravating. For example, I am writing this post on a computer that’s on it’s last legs. No big problems just a fading laptop battery. I’ll just plug it is… Oh wait, when I plug it in, the little indicator light doesn’t come on. Check the power strip. Nope, that’s okay. Check the wire.. You have got to be kidding me. Somehow I pinched the wire in something and wrecked my power cord. Well there’s $80 and two hours of my life I’ll never get back. Then there was the other day making my way home after a nice week of ministry. I had left my host’s home at 4:30 a.m., drove 350 miles to my office, did six hours of office work before finally coming home. I was eager to get off the road when my low tire indicator light came on. When I could finally get of the interstate, the tires looked fine but by then I was paranoid, so I stopped pretty often to check them. Were it on a cold morning, I would have expected the air in the tires to have contracted and not been worried, but that was not the case.

I’d like to tell you I remained calm through all of this, but to be honest I just kept thinking “I don’t have time for this.” It’s amazing how quick it can happen over very minor things. We get discouraged and start to wonder “Why me?” and “Why now?” It’s embarrassing to admit this, but maybe you go through the same things. Please tell me I’m not the only one. God demonstrates His faithfulness all the time, but let one little thing go wrong and I am ready to start complaining and sometimes even panicking. How about you?

My friend, God is faithful in the big and small things. None of this guarantees perfect days, but we can’t really see God’s faithfulness if we never go through anything. Yesterday my friend Larry, who’s really been going through it health wise recently, told something his doctor said to him. He said “Smooth seas don’t make good sailors.” I think that’s a very valid point. So next time you’re going through something you don;t want. even if it’s just a little aggravation, look to the Lord, remember His faithfulness, and start to look for the ways God can make this work to His glory. He is faithful andHe is good all the time.

Leave a Reply

