Archive for August 2, 2017


This morning at the gym, I heard a song that may be the anthem for poor choices. I don’t know the title of the song or the artist. I just know the chorus repeats ad-nauseum, “I like us better when we’re wasted.” Now I do premarital counseling and if I ever heard a couple say this to me, I would 1.) refuse to marry them, and 2.) advocate that they run screaming from this relationship as quickly as possible. If you need to abuse substances to stand being around someone, I could be wrong but it seems that the relationship might be less than constructive, which is my nice way of saying “doomed!” This is the kind of music I hear every day. It’s almost all auto-tuned, with lots of synthesized instruments. I know I’m supposed to speak the truth in love, so I will say that occasionally there is a beat that I can sync with to get the stationary bike going a little faster, but other than that, I just can’t stand it.

It was after another gym session and having seen the ad for another cinematic masterpiece last night just before bed, that inspired this semi snarky Facebook Post.

‘Okay here’s my creative conundrum. If the music I hear at my gym can get recorded, I can write a hit song. If Sharknado 5 (yes, 5) can get made, I can make a movie. That is all.”

Here’s the thing. I really mean it and I want to do it. Now I have no musical ability, so the hit song might be tough. Of course, I do know musicians who can do some heavy lifting on this. But the movie thing… I’m serious as a funeral about that, metaphorically speaking. I don’t care if it’s a low-budget, direct to video Christian film, I just want to tell a story that will touch hearts and minds and inspire someone to do something good in this world. I want to create something that spurs someone, and ideally a lot of people, on to love and good deeds. After all, God didn’t make me a creative to keep this stuff to myself. He didn’t make you creative for that either.

Let’s create great stuff and get it out there for the world to see. We have to be able to do better than some of the really destructive stuff (not to mention bad) stuff that is out there.

So what about you? What is the project that is banging on the walls of your heart, trying to get out?