On My Way…

Posted: August 1, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , ,

In just a few more days, I will be traveling to South Carolina for a week to do some disaster recovery mission work. Truth be known, I am a little apprehensive. See if I was going there to do some art, that’s be okay, I have some skills there. If I was going to preach God’s Word, well God has blessed me in that area as well, and besides I can lean on His Word and depend on His Spirit. This is different. This is construction. Truth be known, I know I am more than a conqueror in Christ but with a hammer in my hand I feel less than incompetent. Compound this with the fact that I am going with my congregation, in the role of their pastor and maybe you understand my trepidation. When I work with them in my normal capacity, I am working in the power of the Spirit and in my gifting. What will they think when they find out I can’t hammer a nail straight or that I’m a walking pile of insecurity with a wrench? What if I smash one of my fingers with a hammer when the old nature is a little too close to the front or my mind? Truth be known, I have tried to prepare them for my incompetence, but what will they think when they see I was not exaggerating for comedic effect?

Then of course there are the intangibles, what if I snore or talk in my sleep or make some other unfortunate sounds in my sleep, if you know what i mean? I know it sounds funny, but I love these people. They have put a lot of trust in me, and I do not want to let them down. And then there’s God. He has entrusted me with these people and I really don’t want to let Him down. Of course I know the answer. I have to trust Him. I have to rely on Him to help me. It’s really no different than any other aspect of my ministry, which bring forth another question. Am I leaning too much on my own strengths and am I too confident in my own abilities? I’m being a little vulnerable here today. What about you? Where do you feel confident and what makes you squirm?

Leave a Reply

