Some people say Mark Twain once said, “The two most important days of your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” A lot of people also say he never said that and I don’t know one way or the other, but whoever said it was on to something. The date of my birth was of course paramount for me, I wouldn’t be here without it. The day I found out why took a long time and actually probably came in stages, because of course there is more than one reason. Of course the day I said yes to Jesus was overlooked in the quote and yet, due to its eternal significance, should be the most important day, and it is.

As I look back over my life, I’ve had a few best days. April 23, the day I married my wife. March 31, the day my oldest son Brandon was born, November 13, the day my youngest son Chris was born and today, July 14. You see July 14 two years ago was the day this little man came into the world.

This is my grandson, David John. He is two years old today and he is my pride and joy. There have been days where I have lamented getting older, but in truth having a grandchild brings all that into perspective. I may be getting older, but I am also more blessed.

Yes, dear reader, this is one of my best days.

Leave a Reply

