Archive for July 8, 2017


I received a notice yesterday on Facebook that Styx is re-releasing a special vinyl version of their quintessential album The Grand Illusion to commemorate it’s 40th anniversary (7/7/77). It was the summer before my 10th grade year and I just remember all the great music to come out that year. I’m prepared to say it was the best year in rock music history. See if you agree.
1. Styx-The Grand Illusion
2. Fleetwood Mac-Rumours
3. Pink Floyd- Animals
4. Steely Dan-Aja
5. The Clash-The Clash
6. Billy Joel-The Stranger
7. David Bowie-Heroes
8. Meat Loaf-Bat Out of Hell
9. ELO-Out of the Blue
10. Queen-News of the World
11. Rush-A Farewell to Kings
12. Yes-Going for the One
13. ACDC-Let There Be Rock
14. Supertramp-Even In the Quietest Moments
15. Eric Clapton-Slowhand
16. Alan Parsons Project-I Robot
17. Jackson Browne-Running On Empty
18. Jethro Tull-Songs from the Wood
19. Kansas-Point of Know Return
20. Neil Young-Decade
21. Foreigner-Foreigner
22. Cheap Trick-In Color
23. Lynyrd Skynyrd-Street Survivors
24. Steve Miller Band-Book of Dreams
25. Ted Nugent-Cat Scratch Fever
26. Blue Oyster Cult-Spectres
27. Heart-Little Queen
28. Crosby, Stills and Nash-CSN
29. Grateful Dead- Terrapin Station
30. Motorhead-Motorhead
31. Aerosmith-Draw the Line
32. George Thorogood and the Destroyers-George Thorogood and the Destroyers
33. Triumph-Rock and Roll Machine

and this is just a few. Now I know that a lot has changed in my life since then, and many of my priorities have changed. Some may be concerned that I listed these or of the content of some of them. I’m not necessarily endorsing the world views of any of these artists, but this was a banner year in rock music and the soundtrack of my creative life for a lot of years. Each of us has a multitude of influences.

What are yours?





My wife and I were out shopping and she saw these shirts that said, “I Make Things.” I thought it was a great idea, so I decided to do my own take on the phrase. What do you think?