Archive for July 6, 2017


I love living in a free country. I love living in a representative democracy. I feel even though our system has many flaws, it’s still the best system I’ve seen. That being said, the church is different. When we vote to come to a conclusion, we say that we have sought the mind of Christ. Really? I don’t know much but I do know this. Christ never sinned. To sin is to run afoul of the standards set by God in His Word. Therefore the mind of Christ will not run afoul of God’s Word. I tried to find a way to illustrate this. Here’s what I came up with.

At the end of the day we can’t do a vote to determine the mind of Christ because there’s a way that seems right to a man but in the end it leads to death. Further His thoughts are not our thoughts, and His ways are not our ways. His ways are higher than ours. God’s will is not found in votes, it’s found in His Word. His will will never violate His Word. God’s Kingdom is not a democracy, it’s a Kingdom with a perfect, all-knowing, always right King. The best thing we can do is submit our will to Him and His Word.