Well today, if everything goes according to plan, I’m spending most of the day in my van. My prayer is that I”m speeding (at a responsible, legal level) across the states of Indiana, Ohio and Pennsylvania. That’s the plan, Lord willing. I was a little hesitant to try to make the whole trip today, because holidays can be less than fun travel days, but I want to get home, I miss my family and a family at church needs me, so here I go.

It’s the fourth of July, or as we call it here in America, Independence Day. It’s the day we declared our independence from what was at time an oppressive regime. While I value our national independence, I’m not a big fan of some forms of independence. Maybe I’m not saying that right. Let me see if I can say it better. We Americans value our independence, and when it comes to a lot of things, that is okay, but when it comes to our lives as individuals, independence is something of an illusion, especially for Christians. You see when it comes to God, we are anything but independent. We are totally dependent on God and we ignore that at our peril. We depend on Him for everything from the air we breathe to the ground upon which we stand. There is not a moment of our lives when we are not dependent on our sovereign Lord.

But wait, there’s more. When it comes to community and especially church we are also anything but independent. Think about it, for everything you can do, there are a thousand things you can’t. For example, I was talking to a retired E.R. nurse the other day, who was relating a story about one of her first experiences in her career. Suffice it to say, I would have been passed out on the floor. God made her able to do what I cannot, and as a result I am glad there are people like her around. People who can do what I cannot. I’m sure, were our conversation longer, we would have found somethingI can do that she cannot and that’s sort of the point. God did not make any of us completely independent. Rather he made us interdependent, so that, in addition to depending on Him, we would also have to depend on each other. That way we will respect and maybe even love each other. It seems that’s pretty important to Him. “They will know you are my disciples by the way you love one another…” remember! “We are many parts but one body…” We need to remember that one too.

So today as we celebrate our independence as a nation, let us also celebrate the God we can depend on completely and all the wonderful people God has put into our lives who do what we cannot and who in the process make life very, very rich.

Leave a Reply

