Archive for July 3, 2017


Well my conference is over. Today and tomorrow are what I call road days. These are days where I spend a good deal of time disconnected and usually driving. Today will be spent setting up for tonight’s ministry and maybe getting a few hours of R&R, not to mention study and prep before tonight’s ministry. Tomorrow will be spent driving several 500-600 miles home and this is when I usually say “Lord willing.” This comes from James 4:13-15, which says, “Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

This is more than superstition. It’s more than, “I better say Lord willing to save myself trouble on the journey.” It’s not some way of keeping God appeased, it’s a statement of faith. It’s saying it all depends on God and so I depend on God. It’s radically important to remember this, because it is easy to start doing all of this life in our own strength. It’s easy to get a little boastful in success, and finally it’s just easy to take life for granted. Sometimes though, we need to remember who makes all this possible, who puts us in position to do good and who adds success to all the efforts we make.

We need to remember it all depends on God, so we all need to remember to o a little less boasting and a little more praying, especially this writer, who needs to remember sometimes that he has been blessed beyond measure. Tomorrow after nine days on the road, I’m hoping to get to see the family I miss so much and spend a little time together before jumping back into everything else I have to do.

Lord willing…

