What Do You Do When You Can’t Win?

Posted: June 29, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

What do you do when you can’t win? Maybe that’s the wrong question. What do you do when you have two people who have been at loggerheads for a long time, and they’re Christian, and they both believe that they’re in the right and supported by Scripture and that God is on their side?

Well there really aren’t a lot of options. To ask either side to change their view (right or wrong) is akin to asking them to betray their faith and while I’m convinced that the Spirit of God can get through to people and change hearts and minds (I know this because He did it for me) I also know changing hearts and convictions can be a long process. What do you do in the mean time? To be honest, there’s a big part of me that would still love to win, but then the larger question becomes what will I lose if I win? Moreover, what will my faith look like to the people who desperately need to experience it for themselves if I continue to fight a battle that will never be won by my human effort.

What are the real choices? Basically there are two—break the relationship with those with whom I disagree, or find a way to get along, disagree agreeably and work together for the common good, while God works on our hearts? This is not a compromise in belief. I hold my convictions and get back on mission. I get back to doing what God has called me to do. I’m not sure, but that might be how you win.

Leave a Reply

