Taking a Break…

Posted: June 15, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life

Well I’ve been on vacation for the last few days and it has been very nice. I write this sitting by a small lake in Fenwick Island, Delaware. In a few hours, we’ll be headed out to the beach. I’ve read a good book, had a few good meals and spent time with my wife and son. I worked a little, took my son for a job interview (the job worked it in, while we were down here because it is closer to here than to home, so we made it a family jaunt), and did some reading in Acts as part of my year long study, but mostly, I’ve relaxed. To tell you the truth, I’ve needed this. My church is really good to me and I love serving them as pastor, but the last few weeks have been a little tough. Not any of the relational issues that sometimes wears pastors down, just people I love going through a lot of tough stuff. The time to refocus and rejuvenate has been nice.

Coming up is a really busy season, and I’m looking forward to it. There’s a ministry trip to Michigan, a writer’s conference and a mission trip among other opportunities. All of that is going to be great, but there are a lot of miles in my future, Lord willing. Sometimes you just need to take a break, rest, recharge the batteries and collect your thoughts for all that lies ahead. Please remember, it’s okay to take a break. Sometimes we all need a little time to relax.

When you get it, take it. It’s a gift.

Leave a Reply

