Book Review: John MacArthur’s Bible Study Guide on Acts

Posted: June 9, 2017 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I read this Bible Study Book as part of my year-long study on the book of Acts. I’ve been reading a commentary by a Pentecostal Missiologist, a great book that told the book as a story set in our modern day and now this book by one of the great (decidedly, and contrastingly not pentecostal) Bible teachers of our day, John MacArthur. The diversity of these views has allowed me to see the book from a lot of different angles, which has been really helpful. I enjoyed this little book thoroughly. It divides the book of Acts into sections and after giving an overview of the section, plunges right into the text itself, giving insights as you read along. These insights are really helpful. Each chapter also has some really thought provoking questions at the end. My only regret with my purchase of this book was that I bought the Kindle version, making it a little clunky to answer the study-guide questions. I have no doubt I will return to this book for more intensive study before my “year of Acts” is out.

Leave a Reply

