What Are You Going to Do Today?

Posted: June 6, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s the first question we have to ask everyday. “What are you going to do today?” To be clear I am fully aware that sometimes you plan your day and sometimes your day plans you, but we should at least have some idea where we’re headed at the start of every day. A few questions can help you to clarify the path:

  • Will what I do advance the Kingdom?
  • Will what I do move me closer to my dream?
  • Does what I am doing fit with my God-given life mission?

These questions can be quite helpful, but be careful. We tend to get caught up in wanting everything we do to be fun and exciting and those things are great, but the battle is often won in the mundane. Are we doing the things that just plain need to be done.

I struggled with this for years. I had a series of day jobs that didn’t really feel fulfilling and after a while I got really down, feeling like what I did didn’t really matter at all. I don’t think I would have answered yes to any of the above questions at the time related to what I was doing. I was wrong. You see the things I was doing to pay my bills and put food on my table were also the things that allowed me to do the things that felt really meaningful but often didn’t pay very well. Those things built my skills and made possible a lot of what I do today. Zechariah 4:10 says “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the LORD rejoices to see the work begin…” While that verse applied directly to the rebuilding work being done in Jerusalem, I think it applies to all the work we do in the Kingdom.

So today make the most of whatever you do, especially those things that make you say yes to the above questions. In those things that make you say “no” or the things about which you’re not sure, decide whether or not they are a waste of time (some things are, lay those down) and give your best to everything else. The ways God will use things are not always readily apparent. Plan your day as best you can, give your best to all you do and glorify God in everything.

What are you going to do today?

Leave a Reply

