An excerpt from my upcoming book on overcoming creative block.

Often the biggest problem that blocks us creatively is not a lack of ideas, we may have a thousand ideas floating around in our creative brains. The problem may be settling in on one. Which one should I do first? It may also be negative self talk. “I’m not good enough to do that;” “I don’t have what it takes;” “I’m lacking some resource;” or maybe just plain “I can’t.” Maybe the nagging “what if’s” have come to call: “What if I can’t do it?” “What if something goes wrong?” “What if I can’t finish?” The list goes on and on and on.

Here’s the thing. I can’t guarantee you success. You may have a raging success or you may fail royally, but I can guarantee failure. You will fail every time if you don’t do one thing—START! So often this is exactly what we do. We get an idea, maybe even a great one, but then the doubts rear their ugly heads and we walk away from it. Don’t do that. To succeed, you have to start. There has never been a success that did not start with a start. I know it sounds obvious, and it is obvious, but I’m convinced that thousands of people take earth shaking ideas to their graves every day because they didn’t have the courage to start.

You say, “But I have all these ideas, what should I choose?” I can’t help you with that. All I can say is pick the one that most appeals to you and start. I know it might be scary. I know you may think you don’t have what it takes to bring it to fruition. Put those fears out of your head and start. You may not have all you need to bring it to fruition right now, but take it as far as you can and see what happens. You may need to bring someone else on board to help you at some point, and it will be much easier to get them on board if you’ve already got something to show, so start.

What if you pick the wrong project? That could happen, but you’ll never know until you start. At the very least you’ll learn what doesn’t work. START. What if people don’t like it? Find the ones who do and sell it to them. What if I get a whole lot of resources into it before it fails? Make your first steps low risk, high reward steps, sketches and drawings cost nothing but time. Start, do what you can and consult people who can tell you what steps or improvements to make.

You’ll never finish, you’ll never succeed if you don’t start.

Leave a Reply

