Designing for Others

Posted: May 21, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is my latest painting for use in my paint parties. I love doing this stuff, but there’s more to it than meets the eye. Is it the best I can do? Not really, but I’m not designing for me. I am designing something that people may not paint all the time. I need to come up with something that a novice painter can do in two hours, and this is the most important part, while having a great time. I really enjoy making art and the big thing is I want others to start enjoying making art.

When you do a design, no matter what you’re designing, it’s important to consider who you’re designing for. I always think back to my first year art directing musicals at a local high school. In the first year, I designed everything in such a way that the only one who could do most of the work was me. The stuff came out pretty nice but I was stressed and the kids didn’t have that much fun. The following year I designed with the kids in mind and we all had a great time and we came up with something that was at least as good.

Of course in our commercial projects, considering the client in our design is urgent. Regardless of what we create, considering the end user is huge. Let’s draw as many people into creating as we possibly can.

Leave a Reply

