Your Network Is Your New Worth…

Posted: May 2, 2017 in church art ministry resources
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Okay the title of this one may be slightly overstated, but not by much. This post was triggered this morning in an online chat with a friend who is pursuing writing. While I am always willing to help, I am more of a writer than a writing teacher. In truth, I am self-taught for writing and she seems to be going deeper than I may be able to go on my own. So I started have I connected you with this person and that person and the other person. Some I had and some I hadn’t yet. Then she gave me a little more info on her dream, and others came to mind, so I recommended those. She gave a little more clarity and I gave another name. I began to realize something. I know a lot of people… and I couldn’t be happier about it.

That’s when it hit me, as a creative, your network is your net worth. Let’s face it, no creative is an island unto themselves and in the body of Christ, I am convinced this is by design. There are some things we are better at than others and there are a few things we can’t do at all. At this point, we have two choices. We can be generalists, who spend all of our time trying to shore up our weaknesses, becoming jacks of all trades and masters of none. The alternative to this is we can work to become the very best we can be at what we’re already good at and work with others who are strong when we’re weak. I pick the second in a heart beat and I think so does God. After all His model for the church is total dependence on Him (the only One who is good at literally everything) and interdependence on our brothers and sisters in Christ.

In my earlier example, there are things I can help my friend with, and I really want to. If she wants to self publish, I have close to 20 books under my belt and I can help her there. If she wants a cover, I could probably help her with that though she is an accomplished artist in her own right. If she needs formatting help, I can do that pretty well as well. That being said there are people in my network that can help her far more than I can and because I genuinely care about her success, I’m going to share the wealth and connect her to my network.

The thing is we all have a network, and if you don’t, you should probably start one. The more people you know, the more you can do. Remember, only God can do everything, the rest of us need each other, so let’s work together. When we collaborate creatively with everyone bringing our best gifts to the table, God is glorified and we become able to accomplish things we could never do on our own. This is what it takes to make the big dreams come true. I don’t know about you, but I have big dreams and I want to see them become reality.

Working through this has made me wonder, should I create a database of my network and share it on this site and, as a second question, would you like to be on it?

Leave a Reply

