Forgive me this morning, but I have to put my pastor hat on. One thing you may or may not know about me is I am not a huge fan of church signs. You know the ones that have those plastic letters that people usually use to make sometimes pithy, but more often corny, sayings designed to make people think. Often, instead, they make me cringe. The exception to this rule is my church, where Lucy Cascioli puts up some really thought provoking stuff.

Today, I was driving past a church and they had sign up that said, “When it gets to hard to stand, kneel.” As church signs go, it wasn’t horrible. It’s almost like a tweet, you only have so many characters to get your point across. I thought, “Yeah,that’s a pretty good sentiment,” but something was bothering me. I couldn’t put my finger on it right away, but it didn’t take long. The problem with the message is huge and crucial in the body of Christ. It represents a major flaw in our thinking that could have been completely corrected with the change of one word. Instead of “When it gets to hard to stand, kneel.” it should say, “Before it gets to hard to stand, kneel.”

Here’s the truth. We can’t afford to make prayer the last resort. When we’ve tried everything else, when we can’t stand up under the weight of the problem anymore, then and only then do we pray. Ridiculous. We have 24/7/365 contact with the Creator of the universe. There are no brownie points in the Kingdom for not bugging God until the problem is so massive you can’t do any more. I’m not God, but as a pastor, I hate it when people don’t come to me for help until the problem is so big and out of control that it takes months or years to fix. Sometimes they even wait until it’s virtually irreparable. What happened? They waited until they couldn’t stand anymore to get help and by then the problem was huge.

What if instead, we went to God first? What if we prayed at the first sign of trouble or even before there is any trouble? What if we sought God on all of our decisions? I think this would radically change our lives.

The time to pray is always. “Pray without ceasing,” remember? Don’t wait until you can’s stand anymore.

Comments
  1. pgerberi says:

    Thanks Dave — a good reminder that our God is here to talk to all of the time!

Leave a Reply

