The Stations of the Cross Project

Posted: April 21, 2017 in church art ministry resources, creative challenge
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well we’re less than a year from Easter 2018, and I know it seems like that’s a long way off, but I’m going to embark on a project that will take me most of the year to complete and I thought I would invite you to find your own way to interpret the stations of the cross. Now I am not of the Catholic persuasion so I am going to use these as the stations:

1. Jesus Prays Alone
2. Jesus is Arrested
3. The Sanhedrin Tries Jesus
4. Pilate Tries Jesus
5. Pilate Condemns Jesus to Die
6. Jesus Wears the Crown of Thorns
7. Jesus Carries His Cross
8. Simon Helps Carry the Cross
9. Jesus Speaks to the Women
10. Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross
11. Criminals Speak to Jesus
12. Jesus Cares for His Mother
13. Jesus Dies on the Cross
14. Jesus is Laid in the Tomb

If you are of the Catholic persuasion you might choose to use these stations instead:
1 Pilate condemns Jesus to die
2 Jesus accepts his cross
3 Jesus falls for the first time
4 Jesus meets his mother, Mary
5 Simon helps carry the cross
6 Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
7 Jesus falls for the second time
8 Jesus meets the three women of Jerusalem
9 Jesus falls for the third time
10 Jesus is stripped of his clothes
11 Jesus is nailed to the cross
12 Jesus dies on the cross
13 Jesus is taken down from the cross
14 Jesus is placed in the tomb

Sometimes a 15th station is added, which would be the resurrection. While this is somewhat rarely done, I believe, unless the Lord leads differently I will add the 15th station as a larger painting.

I plan on creating 15 individual works of art around the stations. I will share them here as I complete them. Mine will all be roughly the same size so they can be easily displayed. I’m still seeking direction for how they will look but the more pressing matter is how they will be displayed and what I will do with them. I want to use them I’m my church but I’d also like to use them to take the story to the world beyond. I’d really love your feedback on that. How would you use a creation of stations of the cross to communicate the “greatest story ever told.” I’d also like to know if you plan on doing one of your own and of course I’d love to see your work. Let’s use this project to build some community here and spur one another on to love and good deeds.

Comments
  1. Robert Varnam says:

    I am looking forward to your Stations pics, Dave!

  2. victoria1953 says:

    Looks like a great plan! Looking forward to your posts. For me, since I am so slow it may take me years but I believe this would be a great goal! And maybe it could help me speed up a bit. Will be praying for you and myself how to execute this. I’m thinking for myself a more present day visual interpretation, but will see what Abba Father reveals 1st.

  3. […] It’s starting. I find myself there right now with a project I wrote about earlier. My Stations of the Cross series of paintings. Here’s the thing. It’s not that I don’t have an idea. I have […]

Leave a Reply

