Archive for March 11, 2017


I’m about to go outside and do some seriously demanding physical work, and truth be known I have no desire to do it. In the past, I would have said, this just isn’t important. The underlying thought was this work is beneath me, I’m an artist, a creative and that is the work I should be doing. Thankfully that has changed. See working in my gifting is important, but the work I am about to do is important to my family. It will make their lives easier and maybe even my life in the long run. It is clear, this other, non creative work is important too.

Sometimes when I think how shallow I was (and still can be if I’m not careful) it makes me sad. Think of how often I put off family time so I could work and work and work. I always rationalized that the eventual success I would achieve from my workaholic tendencies would make their lives so much better that it was worth the trade off. The truth is I arrogantly thought my work was more important than what I would be doing with them. I was so wrong and stupid. I am trying to make up for that now, but I wish I had lived differently back then. Pride is so horribly bad and we have wrapped it up as something honorable.

Why do I share this example of my stupidity and bad behavior? Because smart people learn from their mistakes but really smart people learn from other people’s mistakes. Learn from mine. The really important stuff is the stuff that blesses the people we have been given by God to love. Sure our creativity is a gift from God to be used to His glory, but if we ignore the people we love to work in our gifting, that’ll come back to bite us every single time.

When Jesus was asked what was the most important commandment, He broke it down to a statement that was essentially “love God, love others.” Those are priorities one and two. Work, even the work we do “for God,” comes somewhere after that.

We get to make stuff and that is really cool, but don’t forget to make memories.

It’s important