So It Was That Kind of Day…

Posted: February 26, 2017 in Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

vangoghs-heartOn Saturday, I did a paint party for 13 women in a church not too far from mine. I have a usual list of the pieces I teach, but the person bringing me in was wondering if she could “order off menu” so to speak. She was wondering if I might be able to do something with a heart. I thought how hard could it be to do a painting with a heart? Well it took five paintings to get one I really liked. I finished it a few hours before the party. Yes I was cutting it close. I call it The Heart of Van Gogh. I was a little nervous about this party. Usually I know these painting like the back of my hand before I present them. Add to that the fact that I had come down with a pretty bad cold the day before and was feeling awful. This had all the makings of a very bad day. It wasn’t.

My wife Dawn prayed for me before I went to the party and by the time I got there I was feeling okay. As the party proceeded, I felt even better. When we started the party, the ladies were wonderful, kind and receptive. I was starting to have fun with them. Then as I was mingling through the room I heard one of the women say, “This is the best thing we’ve ever done.” I’m sure it was a little exaggerated, but it blessed my heart just the same. I don’t say this to boast, or to book more painting parties (though if you want one, contact me). No, I say this to remind us all of something very important. We will not always have an easy time or perfect conditions. Sometimes the idea takes too long to come, sometimes you get sick. A world full of things can happen, but one thing I know.

God is faithful.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    What an incredible day! I think days like this may be the most fun- when our humble offerings are accepted and shared with more enjoyment than we could have imagined. It’s such a blessing to share creativity with others. I love your van Gogh heart 🙂
    And I hope you feel 100% better soon!

    • amokarts says:

      Thanks for this Melissa, the sickness is still holding on, I guess it’s off to the Doc for some antibiotics. I really like this painting too. I say this with some surprise as I was really getting frustrated by my own inability to nail this down. I added to my list of paintings I do in my paint parties.

  2. Matt says:

    Needed THAT reminder for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

