The Magnolia Story-Chip and Joanna Gaines

Posted: February 18, 2017 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a pretty voracious reader, or at least I can be. That being said I am also a very busy person at times, so my odds of reading a book in three or four days are pretty slim. Nonetheless, that’s exactly what I did with this book-The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines.

My wife Dawn had read it, and no surprises, she loved it and she asked me to read it. I said I would and she seemed to think I probably wouldn’t, at least not any time soon. Now truth be known, I would have gotten to it, but I did have a few other books in my cue. Hearing the disappointment in her voice made me move it to the front of the line. I am so glad I did.

You see the thing is, I’m not really Chip and JoJo’s target market. For as much as I’m into the arts, interior design and home renovation rank very low in my skill set. That being said, I really enjoy their show, Fixer Upper. I really love Joanna’s style and the finished results are really stunning, always a great blessing, but it’s more than that, I genuinely enjoy these two people. They are fun to watch, they have great chemistry and their faith and their love for each other comes shining through. This is a couple that makes it work.

Having read their book, I will no doubt enjoy them much more. It is written in a unique style, much like in the asides in their show, Where Joanna “speaks” and Chip adds commentary, or Chip “speaks” and Joanna adds commentary. This is captured as each one has their own font. I loved how this was set up and it really added a familiar element tying the show and the book together. Their story is amazing. More than a story of how opposites attract, this is a story of two people God brought together who genuinely complete each other. It is a story of a rocky road that led to a pretty awesome life. No I didn’t quite say that right. This book shows how you can have an awesome life on the rocky road on the way to an even more awesome life.

One of the defining moments in the book is when Joanna is faced with a dilemma. In the midst of a pretty major trial, she has to make a decision. Is she going to thrive or just survive? She then goes on to illustrate how thriving is as much a mindset and a choice as anything. How will we choose to face the trials? This story challenged me to think differently about a lot of the things that occur in this creative life, my marriage, and a lot of what I do.

I loved this book and I know you will too. I’m sensing a trip to Waco in my future.

Comments
  1. TBWhittArt says:

    Just ordered this book from the library for my wife.

Leave a Reply

