Inspiration: Sea of Faces

Posted: February 15, 2017 in church art ministry resources, Church Art Ministry Video
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

From time to time, I like to share things I’ve done in the past. One of those was this video, which is a favorite of mine.

I’ve loved the song Sea of Faces by Kutless from the first time I heard it. It’s just one of those songs that hit me and I knew I wanted to do something with it. Something that Showed how Christ is with us in this sea of humanity, but how could I pull it off. I’m not sure what made me think of using the puzzle, but it was pretty soon after I generated the first piece that I began to realize that noses and ears would wind up in mouths by virtue of the shapes with which I was working. It didn’t take long to realize that this would generate a cacophony of conflict, the very thing that makes us feel lost in this world. From there it was just a matter of painting the pieces and shooting the video. I did this video quite a few years ago and it is still one of my all time favorites.

For this one the song started the ball in motion, but a lot of the finished product came along after I started. It happens a lot like that for me. The best ideas happen once you start. What do you need to start?

Leave a Reply

