Well it finally happened. We had our first substantial snow of the year. In Pennsylvania that this took until nearly mid-February is pretty unusual, but as someone who is not a fan of the white stuff, I’ll take it. I know God has a reason for snow, and I know some love it, but for me the reason escapes me. I much prefer Spring, Summer and Fall, but I digress.

My church urged me to work from home yesterday and my wife and son who both work in education had snow days so we were all together, and that was kind of nice, but today it leaves all of us playing a bit of catch up. I did get some things done, but I also had to shovel the driveway, clear the cars and a couple other snow related duties. Snow all brings me to another unique place. Every year as I shovel our very long driveway I begin to realize that it is not an activity that will last forever. I keep telling my wife I don’t want to finish out my life in this climate, she keeps suggesting we get a snowblower. That’s not what I had in mind.

I am really torn. I love the church I serve and I hope for many good years there. I’ve already floated the idea of being a snow bird church, but they too would rather I get a snowblower. My grandson and my parents and most of the people I love live here and that would also make migration difficult. So I guess I am here for a while, Lord willing, and I will make the best of it.

Of course this also brought me to a point. In this creative life of ours, not everything will be a joy and we were never promised that it would be. When faced with a bad situation, or even just something we would not prefer to deal with, we need to remember this too shall pass and make the most of the cards we’re dealt. We need to look at the blessings of where we’re at right now and praise God for them.

God controls all of this and He has a good reason for everything, even snow. Trust Him in everything and keep being faithful to do all that you’ve been called to do.

Leave a Reply

