Never Give Up… Never Surrender!

Posted: January 11, 2017 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The other day I shared about the song 2112 and the way it inspired me during a tough time early in my creative development. My friend and fellow creative Kindra, had not experienced the song and went to explore it. She looked up the lyrics and found them to be touching and inspirational until the end. You see 2112 does not have a happy ending. The young man finds himself hopeless in a cave. His guitar and his dream destroyed. His final words in the song are “my spirits are low in the depths of despair, my life blood spills over.” It sounds like he quit in the most permanent of ways and that is a tragedy.

First of all, if you ever get to that point, and I have been on that edge, please, please, please get help. Your life has incredible value and meaning and you are worth a lot more than the sum of your creations and dreams and you are loved. They say suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem and I will attest to the fact that that is true. I almost cut my life short in 1986 but the Lord intervened. About two weeks later, I met the woman who would become my wife, the next day I started my first job as an artist. My wife introduced me to Jesus and this amazing journey began. I think that’s my point. I almost gave up just before my breakthrough. Don’t do it.

It doesn’t have to be as drastic as giving up on life. It can be as simple as giving up on your dream. Quitting. I’ve often wondered how many people gave up on their dreams just before it would have come to be. That in itself is tragedy and it brings me to my point. How many great things have never been created because people gave up too soon? As Winston Churchill said in the midst of the biggest battle of his life, a literal world war…

Never give up… Never Surrender.

There is hope. Your dream can happen. You may need to shift your expectations. You may need to make adjustments but your life is not a no-win situation. You can win, and the only way to really lose is to quit. Keep going, persevere, press on and win.

I gave you the last words of the young man in the song 2112. These however are not the last words of the song. Before I go there, I should back up and give you the first words of the song as my first reminder. They are, “And the meek shall inherit the earth.” Sound familiar? They should, Jesus said them and He was, of course, right. It’s not always about power and might. Often it is about someone who is small in the eyes of the world who slogs it out and builds and grows and perseveres until he or she emerges victorious, which may be monumental success or it may be just moving the dream or cause forward for the next person to build on. We don’t get to pick that role, we jet to remain faithful and do what we do, The meek really do inherit the earth because the meek keep going and they trust in the One who called them.

The final words of the song, just after the young man’s life blood spills over, are “Attention all planets of the solar federation, we have assumed control. We have assumed control, We have assumed control.” The meaning of this is a little open ended, but here’s what I take it to mean. Seconds after the young man gives up, his oppressors are overthrown. The door would have been open for his victory. And I think that is the point. If you’re going to “shed your blood” (sweat and tears) in the name of a dream, a vision, a cause, a mission, especially the cause of Christ, don’t waste them by giving up too soon. Instead fight the food fight and finish the race. Paul said that. Live for all you’re worth in the name of our Lord and the vision He has placed in your heart, and keep going.

Never give up… Never surrender. (except to Jesus, surrender to Jesus!)

Leave a Reply

