Book Review: The Prayer of Protection by Joseph Prince

Posted: January 10, 2017 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

prayerofprotectionThe date was May 15, 2004. It was a day I’d like to forget but I doubt that will ever happen. It was the day I had a heart attack. It was a mild one, a wake-up call really, and I now know God used it to do a work in my life, but on that day I was terrified. As I laid in the ICU, my mother-in-law came to see me and read me Psalm 91. While I am sure I had read it several times before, it never hit home like it did on that day of fear and trembling. There is such tremendous hope in this passage of Scripture.

Fast forward to today. I just finished reading the book, The Prayer of Protection by Joseph Prince. I have to admit, I only read this book because it was offered to me by his publishing company for free so that I could review it here. It’s not that I had anything against Pastor Prince, I had just never heard of him and I have a lot of books. I am extremely grateful for that email because this was a really good book and I will no doubt look up more of his books in the future.

In The Prayer of Protection, Prince breaks down Psalm 91 verse by verse and offers this Psalm as a prayer for God’s protection. This book is a head scratcher in the best sense of the word. I have to admit I struggled at times because it almost seemed to easy. Pastor Prince simply believes that we can pray this Psalm against the plans of the enemy over our lives. At first I really wanted to debate this. After all, I’ve seen bad things happen to people who love the Lord and so, I’m sure, have you. What made me scratch my head though was thinking, “Why am I pushing back against this?” What if I prayed this prayer in faith and took God at His Word. After all, that would be what I would instruct others to do. What if God wants to bless us with even more protection, and we need only to take Him seriously and trust in Jesus who paid the price for us? t the very least this book got me thinking more about praying God’s Word over my life and the lives of the people I love. After all, I use this passage often to give people peace and comfort in the tough times of their life. Maybe God means it for more. It is at the very least worthy of consideration.

Prince peppers the book with personal testimonies from people who have experienced God’s protection in the various ways described in the pages of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it got me to really consider “the prayer offered in faith” as James tells us. The book made me challenge the way I look at prayer and I am happy for the challenge. I will be committing Psalm 91 to emory in the weeks ahead. That challenge alone was worth the time it took to read the book. It’s a good read.

Leave a Reply

