SUPERnatural

Posted: November 20, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So once again, I have been corrected online by someone telling me that my faith doesn’t make logical sense. I can sum that up in one word… EXACTLY. I always find it amusing when people are surprised that the God of the Universe is not bound by the laws of nature and logic. Then yesterday in Sunday School we were looking at the topic of heaven from Revelation 22. Every time I study this topic, I realize how limited my thinking is. So much of it is bound by the natural world I live in. I keep putting limitations on Him and so do most of the people I know.

So let’s break it down. There is man and then there is Superman. Superman can do more than man. He does not have the same limitations as man. He can fly. He can leap tall buildings in a single bound. He’s the man of steel and bullets bounce off him. He’s like man only better. In the same way there is natural and there is SUPERnatural. Man is bound by the natural but God is bigger and more powerful and not bound by the natural, He is supernatural. God is able to do any and all things, totally unlimited. At the end of the day, He doesn’t have to abide by the laws of physics and nature. He is above all of that.

People seem to want a God they can understand, and a God they can explain and rationalize. If I can explain everything about God, and know everything about Him, He is too small for me. Trust me when I say you need a God smarter than me.

God is greater than us, and we need Him to be, whether we can explain Him or not.

How would you express the Supernatural God to the people in your life?

Leave a Reply

