Change the Story

Posted: October 12, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life

crosssymbolI’m always amazed by people who wear crosses. I want to ask them if they understand what they’re wearing. They walk around with a symbol of torture and death hanging around their necks. Okay, I’m being a little facetious, but there is a grain of truth in the above statement. So why do we wear crosses? Because Jesus changed the story.

Think about it. Jesus went to the cross to save us and when He did, this symbol of torture and death was transformed into a symbol of life and hope. The story was changed once and for all.

Why do I share this? Because I recently attended a fund raiser for some folks who are doing mission work so dangerous that I can’t tell you who they are or what they’re doing. All I can say is this, they are being used to radically change people’s stories. God knows who they are, so please pray for them and their work.

Lastly there are millions of people in our world who are in desperate need of a change of story. One of them might even be you, but what if you could help someone to live a better story? In my life, there was a time where I suffered under near crippling depression, and God brought me out of it. He changed my story, by calling me to help others. It might be as simple as a kind word of encouragement or as major as foreign missions. Whatever the case, you really can make a difference in this world, You simply need to follow Jesus faithfully and do what He leads you to do.

Sometimes the best way to change your story is to work to change someone else’s.

Change the story.

Leave a Reply

