The Choice Is Yours…

Posted: September 27, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I want to talk about the debates today, but relax this is not a political post. My first confession is that I did not watch the debates. I had a great night preaching revivals last night and didn’t want to ruin my mood by watching the two people my nation has inexplicably decided to put up as the best candidates from their party. I still shake my head in disbelief, but that is a different story for a different day, and probably a different blog since I really can’t stand politics. My exposure to the debates came today when I hit my social media. OH MY WORD!!!

The fact that I have so many friends who actually believe either of these people will make a good president boggles my imagination. Rest assured, I will follow my God’s admonition to pray for whichever one wins and further I will go to the polls to vote for the people I believe will advance the causes that are near and dear to my heart, but at this point I am thinking I will either skip the top slot altogether or write in Yeshua Hamaschiach as a symbolic gesture. I have been more down about this SNL sketch turned reality called the 2016 election than I must have realized. Then today my friend Chuck Kieffer from the Foundry Church posted a question to Facebook that got me back on track.

You get to pick one.
(A) A Christ centered life where you are spiritually blessed but have troubles that cause you to fully rely on Him.
(B) the perfect political leader and system of government that you get what you want.

Sometimes I wonder if Christians really understand what this life is all about. You get one choice choose wisely

Well said, Chuck! That command to pray for our leaders came at a time when someone far worst than either of our current candidates was the political ruler of the world. I say “political ruler” because in reality Jesus already rules the world. Believers we need to keep that in mind. Trump or Clinton will end up in the White House, but what matters so much more is God is on the throne. If you feel so led and one of these people inspires confidence in you, vote for them. If both of them depress you, do something else, but remember this. Our first call is to Jesus. Cast your vote and get back to work. Let’s live a better story and tell the world the story of the only One who can actually save it.

That’s what we’re here for.
allfouryeshua

Leave a Reply

