Dave Weiss Is a Hypocrite… Maybe

Posted: August 9, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Okay so yesterday’s post lauded the habit of catching up over giving up, yet if you go over to my other website, dweisscreative.com, you will notice that it has been several days since I have posted there as well and even though I have a piece called The Daily Creative, I have left it slip a bit. Am I being hypocritical? Maybe.

Here’s where I am at. I know people hit this page every day and while I would love to have more conversation and community here, occasionally some of you comment, share these posts, etc. I know you’re out there, I know you’re active and I am very happy to keep going. The other site is getting very little response. I have been posting the Daily Creative for months over there and asking people to share their creations on the Facebook page. So far there has been no responses.

I have not given up on the site, I am just realizing that I am not doing something right pertaining to getting the word out. If there’s no interest, I’ve had three comments over the history of the site that were not spammers, the site isn’t happening yet. I think I am publishing good content there, but it’s not yet bearing fruit. Because this is the case, when my time is extremely limited, I have to prioritize. Maybe you do to.

We all have projects we love. These are things that we sink a lot of time into, but at the end of the day, because we all only have so many hours in a day, sometimes we need to pick and choose. When resources are limited (and time is a resource) we have to prioritize. A great way to do this is to look at what you’re actually trying to accomplish. The things that will lead to accomplishing those goals should be right there near the top. Other things need to be pushed aside.

A final word on this: There is nothing more important than God (not ministry, not church, God). He needs to come first before our goals, ambitions, etc. If He isn’t, whatever comes before Him is a big time idol and you need to be very careful. Right after God are the people we’ve been given to love, especially our families. Pushing them to the back burner to accomplish your goals can ruin you. Trust me on this, I know. Goals are huge and important but if your goals come before these two, they are trouble. You’d be better off with a menial job some place still loving God and with a strong family, than to gain great success and lose everything that matters.

What good is it for a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul?

Leave a Reply

