51-kgOGer0LSpoiler Alert. If you’ve not read the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series and you want to, don’t read any further. When I went on vacation in June. I thought I might have a lot of time to read so I brought along my copy of the complete collection of all five of the books in the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Trilogy (that’s not an error). Over 800 pages of Pythonesque British humor. There were a couple of moments I could have done without but for the most part it was a funny as I remembered. I had never read the final book Mostly Harmless, so I read through the entire trilogy to get to that point. It took weeks. Last night I finished it and here comes the spoiler, you have been warned. I was nearing the end. about five pages from the end and I thought, I know there are no more books and the author has since passed away, and there are a lot of things in this book that still need to be resolved.

And then it happened. He tied up all the loose ends by killing everyone, all the main characters and the entire population of the earth. On one hand it was masterful storytelling, on the other hand, I can’t stand it when a story ends without hope. Don’t get me wrong, the main character dies in a lot of great books. The Bible comes to mind, but in all great stories, there is a point to the death, someone is rescued, someone is helped, freed, cured, etc. I couldn’t stand the idea that these characters that I started to relate to no longer exist, nothing was gained from their deaths, nothing but a scorched, vaporized earth. It felt so pointless. Sometimes the hero dies, but the hero needs to win.

That’s called hope.

My conclusion, interesting at times hilarious book, terrible ending. three stars.

Read the Bible instead. The hero dies, rescues all of humanity and then rises again. True story, with an awesome ending, a Googolplex (1 followed by a billion zeroes) of stars.

Leave a Reply

