Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

Posted: July 14, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , ,

I think it was Eric Burdon of the Animals who wrote, “I’m just a soul whose intentions are good. O Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood.” It was bound to happen, sooner of later, people casting judgment on something I’ve done, unfairly I believe, but what’s fair got to do with it?

So what do you do when it happens? Well at first you reconsider your life choices, realize motivational speakers rake big piles of money to do exactly the same thing you do, many times for almost free. Then you remember who called you and you calm down. The next step is to check yourself. Was your heart in the right place? Check! Is there something you can do to correct the misunderstanding? Maybe. Well then you do what Paul told us to do, “As far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” You also check to see if there is anything you need to change in what you do or if you’re just not with the right audience. Is it a learning growing experience or are you totally in the right? In ministry, we have to be righteous. Sometimes that means you change and sometimes that means you stand.

Here’s what I know. I try to go at everything with as pure a heart as I can muster. I truly love the people I serve and I always want to get it right. I know I don’t always, but I try.

Leave a Reply

