How to Do Inspired Work

Posted: July 7, 2016 in Uncategorized

I could write this post in one word… PRAY, but that would probably sound like an oversimplification so let’s spread it out a little bit. We say that the Scriptures are the inspired Word of God. This does not mean that the authors got an idea and embellished upon it. That word inspired literally means breathed. God breathed it into the authors and they wrote down what He gave them. That’s why we get that verse that says “All Scripture is God breathed.” Now I will not sit here and say that “All Dave Weiss’ art is God breathed…” That would not be true. But I will say this, a lot of my work is the result of much prayer and time in those God breathed Scriptures and if you’re going to be a Christian artist that principle is at least worth considering.

To do inspired work, we need to seek out inspiration. The Word of God and prayer are essential to this. Drawing close to God, meditating on Scripture and seeking God through the process are essential. Ask God for something to speak to the people He wants you to speak to, then listen and create. Sometimes you will get the project straight away and sometimes you start and let Him guide. Occasionally there is waiting involved. and of course those who wait on the Lord will renew their strength, but sometimes what we call waiting is really fear or disobedience. One of the things I have to ask myself in my blocked times (and every creative has them) is was there something I was inspired to do that I have put off? Perhaps the reason a new idea isn’t coming is because I have been unfaithful with something God has already given me to do. Sometimes, we get stuck because we have gone as far as we can “on our own” and we need help to take the assignment to the next level. If this is the case, the prayer changes. “Lord show me who can help me.” or maybe “Lord show me what to do while I wait.”

There are times when God just wants us to rest and times when He leads us into times of refreshing. This is especially prevalent in independent people who need to be taught to depend on God and workaholic types who begin to push God aside in favor of busyness. If you deal with either of those issues (I can deal with both) seek God and ask Him to show you any areas where your priorities are out of whack.

At the end of the day, I truly believe that every Christian creative wants to devote their lives to anointed, powerful, divinely inspired work. After all, life’s too short for random busyness.

Get your inspiration from God and His Word, then go forth in faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

