Last night I got a call to be a part of a city-wide revival in the capitol city of my home state. I am excited to be a part of it but as I was thinking about the invitation I realized the chain of events that led to the invitation. It’s pretty cool.

About four years ago, in the middle of winter, I was sitting in the Newark NJ airport waiting to board a flight for sunny FL to see an old friend and minister at four or five churches. I was excited to be able to get out of the cold for a few days and to have the opportunity to share God’s Word. I was sitting there, “minding my own business” (which I guess is not really the case as we shall soon see.) when I heard the group of people behind me saying things like “Mexico” and “mission trip.” My curiosity was piqued so I left minding my own business behind and started to chat with them. It turns out they were from a church about an hour from my home and they had a pretty thriving art ministry. From there the conversation expanded to the point where I was sketching for them and they anointed me for my ministry trip. It may be the best time I have ever had in an airport.

Well, of course, as soon as I got back from Florida, I made contact with them and they put me in touch with the director of their art ministry, who has since become a great friend of mine. We’ve done a few things together here and there, but it hadn’t worked out for me to be able to work with their team, until now. Four years later, all the pieces have fallen into place to do something really cool together and I can’t wait to see what comes of it.

Why do I share this story? When it comes to the Kingdom of God, “minding your own business” is really overrated. Better to pray for and look for opportunities to meet other believers, share your gifts and see where God is leading. A big part of this is being mindful of those who are around you. This is how you see the people who might need your help and sometimes the people who can help you. God is always at work and you never know what He will do, so you need to…

Be Mindful!

Leave a Reply

